File Renaming on Transfer

the software that eases your everyday life with your digital pictures

File Renaming on Transfer

Postby ivarknut » Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:39 pm

I have a problem with renamine files on transfer with cam2pc 4.5.1.

Rename files is checked with the string \"%Y_%m_%d_%h_%u_%s.%e\" and automatically append number to avoid duplicates is checked.

This causes all the files to be renamed to the date/time of the first image transfered + the appended number. Later, I can do advanced renaming in cam2pc with the same string and the filenames will be correct.

I have tried transferring files from both my camera and a folder on lmy machine to eliminate my camera as the problem.

I\'d really like to copy and rename files on the fly

Any ideas?

Regards,
Ivar
ivarknut
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:03 am

Postby koolsbergen » Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:50 pm

Exactly the same problem happened to me. I am using a Kodak DX6490 and had never rename problems with my (registered) version of cam2pc. From version 4.5 it went wrong. I checked everything but found out it must be a fault in camp2pc itself. So I am using an older version (version 4.3) again without problems.

Nico
Nico Koolsbergen
koolsbergen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby kiig » Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:51 pm

I have the same problem... was just about to go through all the settings in my camera (eos 1D, - a LOT of settings), - format my memory card or similar, - but lucky for me I ended up here before anything else :-)

My Eos 1D images does this, - rename all images as the timestamp of the first image in the batch, - just as described.... (and it has started recently, - like at the time when I upgraded.. :-( ) but my Fuji FinePix 3000 still works as usual, - taking the individual timestamp from each image... I'm running 4.5.1 now.

Could it be a 'default' setting in tools/settings/transfer that have changed ? (and Should it be Canon for a Canon camera ?, - somehow exif-related?)..

Anyway, - I'm very glad to hear that it's probably Cam2PC and not my camera or EXIF data... (much more easy to solve :-) ) I just can't find any old versions of Cam2pc, - just to check it.... Is it possible to download old versions ?

P.S. Thanx for the idea of Advanced Renaming, - works for me too.
Kim Igel.
kiig
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:30 pm

Postby kiig » Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:42 pm

the advanced rename can not handle multiple images, - taken at the same second though... or am I doing something wrong ?

I usually do a "append number to filename to avoid dublicates", - but I can't find that option for the advanced rename... ?

I've got several 'bursts' of images, - with 4-6 or more images taken in the same second.... :-( I'll look forward to an update :-) !
Kim Igel.
kiig
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:30 pm

Postby koolsbergen » Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:06 pm

kiig wrote:
Anyway, - I\'m very glad to hear that it\'s probably Cam2PC and not my camera or EXIF data... (much more easy to solve :-) ) I just can\'t find any old versions of Cam2pc, - just to check it.... Is it possible to download old versions ?

P.S. Thanx for the idea of Advanced Renaming, - works for me too.


Send an e-mail to nicokoolsbergen@hotmail.com and I\'ll mail you version 4.3 - which works flawless.
Nico
Nico Koolsbergen
koolsbergen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby kiig » Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:18 pm

Thanx Nico, - You've got mail :-)
Kim Igel.
kiig
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:30 pm

Postby nabocorp » Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:53 pm

Hello,

just tried to download some pictures using "%Y-%m-%d-%h%u%s.%{ext}" as a rename mask and all pictures get renamed differently as expected. Can you please give me more information on your exact download settings?

Thanks,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby ivarknut » Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:47 am

Hi,

Using version 4.5.1 on XP sp2:

The settings in the image download dialog are:


WHAT...
Move files
from Digital Camera (greyed out)
to Multiple Directories (greyed out)

checked: Flatten directory structure
checked: Close this window
checked: Browse images

In the cam2pc options dialog:


TRANSFER:
Camera Type: WIA/PTP...
Directory to look for: DCIM
checked: Show Thumbnails...
checked: register cam2pc as event handler


DIRECTORY CREATION:
checked: Use mask to generate destination folder
\"C:\\Kodak\\%Y\\%m\\%d\"
checked: get date for each individual picture

FILE RENAMING:
checked: Rename files
\"%Y_%m_%d_%h_%u_%s.%e\"
checked: Automatically append number...


I am using a Kodak CX6230, but I get the same problem if I just transfer from one HD directory to another. I also tried \"%Y-%m-%d-%h%u%s.%{ext}\" as the rename string, same problem. To me

I just tried it and got the following files:

a) 2005-03-22-071626 (1).jpg
b) 2005-03-22-071626 (2).jpg

EXIF tags for the pics are:

a) DateTimeOriginal: 2005:03:22 07:16:30
b) DateTimeOriginal: 2005:03:22 07:16:35

I am not sure why the final filename says \"26\" seconds or where that number comes from. In fact, all files seem to be renamed as 4 seconds before what the EXIF tag says. This gets corrected if I run advanced renaming on them manually.

This worked for me on earlier versions, before 4.5.1

I hope those are all the download settings you need. if not let me know :)

Ivar
ivarknut
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:03 am

Postby nabocorp » Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:46 am

Can you send me two or three pictures at info at nabocorp dot com so I can try with yours?

Thanks,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby koolsbergen » Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:55 am

ivarknut wrote:Hi,

Using version 4.5.1 on XP sp2:

<CUT many details>

This worked for me on earlier versions, before 4.5.1

I hope those are all the download settings you need. if not let me know :)

Ivar


Exactly my experience. I returned to version 4.4.5. which works flawless and am hoping for a new version without this problem.

Regards,
Nico
Nico Koolsbergen
koolsbergen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby kiig » Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:07 pm

Hi all, - have been avay a couple of days... does anyone still need more examples of images that get's renamed wrongly ? I concur the problem described by Nico and Ivarknut, - that's what I've got, - and my workaround was to find a 4.4.5 version (thanx Nico :-) ) and that works.

My camera is the Eos 1D
Kim Igel.
kiig
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:30 pm

Postby nabocorp » Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:32 pm

Yes please I need pictures. Just tried with my Canon IXUS 400 camera in WIA/PTP mode and images get renamed properly here.

Regards,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby ivarknut » Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:25 pm

I have just sent an email with two pics.

As I said in the email:

"I did notice one thing recently, I tried cam2pc out with some pictures from another camera and it seems like the EXIF information is different. Under "Camera tags" he has a field called "DateTime" which I don't have. I only have the field "DateTimeOriginal" under EXIF tags."

Does anyone else miss a "DateTime" tag under the Camera tags?
ivarknut
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:03 am

Postby nabocorp » Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:54 pm

Good news for everyone, the bug seems fixed. From the samples sent by ivarknut the bug seems to come from the fact that his camera names his pictures 100_xxxx.jpg. cam2pc wrongly believed that 100_xxxx and 100_yyyy were related files because it calculated the sequence number of these images as being 100. I did not have the bug because my camera names pictures IMG_xxxx and in that case cam2pc rightly skipped the IMG_. I changed the routine that calculates sequence number to handle both cases.

So far for the details, can you all confirm that your camera names pictures starting with some number like this? As soon as I have enough confirmation I'll release 4.5.2 that fixes this.

Regards,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby koolsbergen » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:14 am

Yes, my camera (Kodak DX 6490) numbers 100xxxx etcetera! I\'m looking forward to version 4.5.2!

Nico
Nico Koolsbergen
koolsbergen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to cam2pc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron