How do I avoid duplicate downloads?

the software that eases your everyday life with your digital pictures

How do I avoid duplicate downloads?

Postby peta » Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:26 pm

Thanks for this great little program! Ive used both Canons ZoombrowerEX, and Picassa, and I find both their downloaders laborious, especially with the 1GB card in my Fujifilm A600. Picassa is especially bad as it insists on downloading viewable images before you are allowed to transfer and many times the batteries have gone flat before it can finish a full card.

However one thing both these programs do that cam2pc does not, is to avoid duplicate downloads even when downloaded files are moved or renamed (I like to use copy, not move, mode for the transfer).

I guess these programs might use their database to remember which card images have already been downloaded, but could they not also mark it on the card using the file timestamp, or by modifying the exif data?

Just wondering if there is a way for cam2pc to do the same?
peta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:02 pm

Postby nabocorp » Mon Apr 30, 2007 2:10 pm

Hello,

just go the Options, select Miscellaneous under Transfer and check "Do not download already transfered files".

Regards,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby platinum » Mon May 14, 2007 11:46 am

nabocorp wrote:Hello,

just go the Options, select Miscellaneous under Transfer and check "Do not download already transfered files".

Regards,
nabocorp


hello. i want to avoid duplicate downloads, me too.

i use cam2pc 4.6 FREE versione and i don't find this option. please where is this option?
platinum
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:38 am

avoid duplicate image downloads

Postby theHalo » Thu May 17, 2007 6:21 pm

hello.

i am using cam2pc 4.6.0 (German).

i would also like to use the feature of not downloading duplicate images.

but i also can\'t find the option.

in the options under transfer (Bild-Ãœbertragung) are only the following options:
Kameratyp ...
Optionen
Suchverzeichnis ...
JA ZU ALLEM...
Autom. herunterladen...
Registriere cam2pc für Kamera-Ereignisse
Kamera oder Kartenleser überwachen
USB-Auto-connect Gerät trennen ...

and under miscellaneous (Verschiedenes) are:
Immer Belichtungszeit angeben als 1/...s
Intro-Bild beim Programmstart zeigen
Beim Start auf Update prüfen
Windows-XP-Menüs (greyed out)
Flaches Aussehen (greyed out)
HTML-Zeichens...
Systemtray-Symbol startet: ...

(unfortunately i can only tell you the options in german. the english language file seems to be outdated (Ver 4.5.2) and there is no newer english language file downloadable.)

so, you see, there is no \'do not download already transfered files\' in the options.

can you tell me what i can do?
theHalo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 5:59 pm
Location: Münster, Germany

sorry

Postby theHalo » Thu May 17, 2007 6:28 pm

found it now. :oops:
very stupid :) sorry.
theHalo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 5:59 pm
Location: Münster, Germany

Re: sorry

Postby platinum » Thu May 17, 2007 6:38 pm

theHalo wrote:found it now. :oops:
very stupid :) sorry.


sorry, please where is this option to avoid duplicate downloads?
platinum
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:38 am

Postby peta » Thu May 17, 2007 7:17 pm

nabocorp wrote:
just go the Options, select Miscellaneous under Transfer and check "Do not download already transfered files".



Thanks for the reply. I'm using the free version (4.6.0) and there is no Miscellaneous in the Transfer options. There is a Miscellaneous by itself at the top level but there is no check box to disable repeat downloads.

Is this option only available on the commercial version?
peta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:02 pm

Postby platinum » Thu May 17, 2007 7:21 pm

[quote="peta"]
Thanks for the reply. I'm using the free version (4.6.0) and there is no Miscellaneous in the Transfer options. There is a Miscellaneous by itself at the top level but there is no check box to disable repeat downloads.

Is this option only available on the commercial version?[/quote]

yes... i think only in commercial version.... :-(

i tried and in commercial version there is.
platinum
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:38 am

Postby peta » Fri May 18, 2007 4:15 pm

platinum wrote:
yes... i think only in commercial version.... :-(

i tried and in commercial version there is.



Could you try an experiment for me? Download an image from the camera (in copy mode), disconnect the camera, then rename the folder into which the image was saved.

Then reconnect the camera and try the download again. Does it re-download the image?
peta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:02 pm


Return to cam2pc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron