Saving and EXIF data

the software that eases your everyday life with your digital pictures

Saving and EXIF data

Postby jerryp » Sat Dec 14, 2002 6:02 pm

Thanks very much for the renaming fix - that makes cam2pc much more usable :D.

It appears that when cam2pc saves a picture, the EXIF metadata does not get saved with it. I'd like to be able to copy pictures back to my camera (cp 4300) to show them to friends on the TV. But the camera doesn't recognize files without metadata as being pictures. It does appear that pictures I saved with the ArcSoft PhotoImpression contain a small subset of the metadata.

Of course, it would also be nice to have the data for information purposes when I don't save the original.

Any suggestions or comments?

Thanks,

Jerry
jerryp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 5:28 pm

Postby nabocorp » Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:16 am

What do you mean by cam2pc saves a pictures? When resizing? Also note that most cameras are not able to read pictures once they have been rotated: if you have rotated an image and want to bring it back to your camera you have to reset their orientation before uploading them.

nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm

Copying files back to camera (Nikon cp4300)

Postby jerryp » Fri Dec 27, 2002 4:31 am

Sorry for the delay in responding. I wanted to test this more carefully, and it took me a while to get a chance. Here's what I did and the results.

I took one photo and made 6 files, each by making one modification:

1) Crop using cam2pc
2) Resize using cam2pc
3) Rotate using cam2pc

4) Crop using ArcSoft PhotoImpression
5) Resize using PhotoImpression
6) Rotate using PhotoImpression

Metadata in cam2pc:

I viewed these 6 files in cam2pc.
#1 and #2 said that no metadata was available.
#3 had full metadata
#4, #5, #6 had minimal metadata (9 items)

Displaying in camera:

I copied the 6 files back onto my camera (Nikon cp 4300).

The cam2pc files (#1, #2, #3) would not display ("File contains no image data")
The PhotoImpression files (#4, #5, #6) displayed OK, even the rotated one (though the thumbnail versions were garbage)
jerryp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 5:28 pm

Postby nabocorp » Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:08 pm

Hello,

for 1) and 2) I would say that this is normal: I did not implement this in cam2pc. For the rotate stuff I never got any camera to display them properly... I don't know how to get around this, sorry.

Regards,
nabocorp
nabocorp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:46 pm


Return to cam2pc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron